Return Back to IRSC Home Page
People Searchgraphic



Superlative Scholars


Indian River State College (IRSC) recognized student and employee special achievements at its 2018 College Awards Ceremony Thursday, April 12. Fort Pierce Mayor Linda Hudson, a 1964 graduate of IRSC, was honored with the 2018 Distinguished Alumni Award and served as the event’s keynote speaker.


IRSC Distinguished Scholars: Awarded to 154 students, nominated by their instructors or College administrators or staff members, whose academic standing and participation in extracurricular activities are decidedly above average.

“Superlative” Distinguished Scholars: Conferred to an IRSC Distinguished Scholar who is the most outstanding in their particular Meta Major. Andrew Potawsky of Stuart for Arts, Humanities, Communications and Design ; Malin Wallen of Ft. Pierce for Business; Jeffrey Norus of Port St. Lucie for Public Safety; Charlotte Morganson of Ft. Pierce for Education; Lauren Tokarz of Vero Beach for Health Sciences; Samantha Hernandez of Stuart for the Honors Program; Jordon Norus of Port St. Lucie for STEM; Rachelle Mirville of Port St. Lucie for Social and Behavioral Science and Human Services; and Jerad Driskell of Ft. Pierce for Industry, Manufacturing, and Construction.

2018 All-Florida Academic Team: Selected for their outstanding academic achievement, leadership and service to their communities: Courtney Perrett of Ft. Pierce; Tori Meyer of Port St. Lucie; Brian Barral and Samantha Hernandez of Stuart; Wyatt Deihl and Rylee Lopez of Okeechobee; Jaden Kline of St. Cloud; Chastity Haxton of Englewood; Courtney Perret of Durban, South Africa; Malin Wallén of Stockholm, Sweden; and Flavia Rostetter of Kerzers, Switzerland.

Academic Award: Presented to Jaden Kline of St. Cloud and Christina Paolino of Port St. Lucie for superior academic achievement plus outstanding qualifications in such areas as intellectual curiosity, responsiveness to the challenges of learning, interest in research, and the ability to use an association of ideas to stimulate personal thinking.

Community Service Award: Awarded to Henoc Beague of Fort Pierce, who, while enrolled at IRSC, has successfully performed meaningful service in the off-campus community in Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee, or St. Lucie counties.

General Excellence Award: Presented to Emily Zambito of Vero Beach, a part-time student who has done outstanding academic work, contributed meritorious service to the community, and set a fine personal example.
Leadership Award: Leadership Award: Awarded to Lillian Jimenez for her demonstration of exceptional leadership both in and out of college. Jimenez serves IRSC Campus Coalition Government (CCG) Vice President, is Chair of the Helping Hands Committee, and participates in new student orientations, and on the Campus Safety Task Force. Jimenez is a Florida College System, (FCS) IRSC Student Representative and also represents the more than 800,000 FCS students as the FCS Student Government Association Secretary. For 2018-19, she will serve as IRSC CCG President and FCS Student Government Association Vice President.

Special Achievement Award: Awarded to Matthew Misiano of Port St. Lucie who, through personal initiative, has achieved special recognition and commendation locally, or at the state or national level or has overcome odds to persevere through their education goals.

Also recognized today were the Jack Kent Cooke Foundation Undergraduate Transfer Scholar and recipients of the Association of Florida Colleges scholarships and Performing and Visual Arts Transfer scholarships.


Instructional Innovation Award: Presented to Richard Dewey, MA, Department Chair, Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice Department; Kate Bradford, JD, Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice Department; Kimberlie Massnick, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice Department; and Leigh Clay, MS, Academic Facilitator/Curriculum Developer, Criminal Justice Department for improving the quality of course materials and eliminating textbook costs for students with the development and introduction of Open Educational Resources (OER) for online, blended, and face-to-face classes in the six technical core courses required for Associates and Bachelor’s level Criminal Justice degrees.

Pioneer Award: Awarded to the IRSC Culinary Institute for its innovative instruction, workforce preparation, community partnerships and service, national and international recognitions, and commitment to student success. Accepting the award were Professors William Solomon and Deborah Midkiff, Academic Coordinator Lisa Lamarre and students of the Institute.

River Award: Conferred to the IRSC Campus Coalition Government (CCG) for its work on campus as the coordinating body representing 2,675 student members in 72 different organizations. CCG’s focus on its central mission of student engagement resulted in hundreds of hours of community service. Over the past four years the CCG is responsible for 40,775 community service hours – more than any other institution in the Florida College System. IRSC CCG members are: Kelly Wise, President; Lillian Jimenez, Vice President; Charlotte Morganson, Secretary; Heather Hunt-Gonzalez, Treasurer; and Franklin Hunt-Gonzalez, Parliamentarian.

President’s Cup: Presented to the IRSC Workday Implementation Team for its multi-year, multi-department work in major technology upgrades that touch every operating aspect of the College. The team is a national leader in implementing a first-of-a-kind enrollment and student services product that is cloud based and mobile friendly. Paul O’Brien, Vice President of Institutional Technology, and Meredith Coughlin, Assistant Dean of Enterprise Systems, accepted the award for the team. 

home | about irsc | admissions | advising | prospective students | students | virtual campus | foundation | visitors
myirsc | programs/careers | libraries | career services | athletics | bookstore | financial aid | faculty/staff